Moving to Boulder

Boulder moving company rates

Two movers and a truck runs $135 to $179 an hour here. We read every one of those numbers off the mover's own website, so you can compare without calling six people.

New to Boulder › Moving companies

That hourly figure is the labor, and it is only part of what you'll pay. Most Boulder movers add a one-time truck or service fee somewhere between $95 and $150, set a minimum of one to three hours, and charge more on a weekend than a Tuesday. Two companies quoting the same $150 an hour can still be $200 apart on the same job once the minimum and the truck fee land.

So the table below keeps those columns side by side. It also shows you whether each company turns up in the state's list of permitted household goods movers, which is the check the Colorado PUC asks you to make before you book anybody, and which is easy to skip when you're busy.

Every figure here was read on August 9, 2026 from the page linked in that row. 6 of these 12 movers publish a price; the rest quote by phone, and the table says so rather than guessing on their behalf.

What Boulder movers charge

Rates are for two movers and a truck unless the row says otherwise, because that is the unit that actually varies between companies. Movers who publish a price come first.

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Company Published rate Minimum Truck or travel fee Binding estimate? Colorado PUC permit Source, date read
Boulder Valley Transfer Louisville $135/hr, 2 movers and a truck Posted as a promotional price against a list rate of $150/hr. Also published: $180/hr for 3 movers and a truck (list $200), $225/hr for 4 movers and a truck (list $255). The rate is labeled a limited-time special, so confirm it still stands when you call. Not published Not published Not stated. Offers a free on-site estimate. Listed active Permit HHG-00209, published on their own site, appears in the active section of the state's July 2025 permit list. Home page Read August 9, 2026
Guys and Dollies Boulder, CU campus service $140/hr, crew size not stated A move-only service built for CU students, open most days in summer, and it does not do long-distance moves. Boxes are $3 each and bubble wrap $5 a roll on a move-only job. 1 hour No mileage or fuel charge. The clock starts when the movers arrive at you. Not stated. Could not confirm Not a finding that they lack a permit. Check the PUC search before you book. Boulder moving page Read August 9, 2026
Beyond Moving Boulder $150/hr or $135/hr, 2 movers Two different rate sets appear on their own site. The local moving page lists $150/$190/$230/$270/$310 an hour for 2 to 6 movers. The billing page lists $135/$175/$215/$255/$295. Ask which one applies to your date. Card payments carry a 4.5% processing fee, published on the billing page. 3 hours, on both pages One-time truck fee, published as $150 per truck on the local moving page and $95 per truck on the billing page. Round-trip drive time is billed for anywhere more than 30 minutes from their base. Not stated. They do publish no deposit to book a local move and no cancellation fee. Could not confirm Not a finding that they lack a permit. Check the PUC search before you book. Local moving and Billing and payment Read August 9, 2026
Moving Brothers Denver, with a Boulder location on Pearl Street $159/hr Mon to Thu, $179/hr Fri to Sun, 2 movers and a 26ft truck Boulder-area pricing, published separately from their Denver rates. Extra movers are $60/hr. The rates page says these prices "start at" those figures. 2.5 hours One-time service fee of $109 for the Boulder area. The clock starts when they reach your first address and stops at the second, so you are not paying for the drive from their yard. Not stated. Free estimates offered. Listed active Permit HHG-00376, published on their own site, appears in the active section of the state's July 2025 permit list. Moving rates Read August 9, 2026
Boulder All Star Movers Lafayette $175/hr, 2 movers and an 18ft truck Also published: $350/hr for 4 movers and two 20ft trucks, $390/hr for 6 movers and two 20ft trucks, $450/hr for 6 movers and two 26ft trucks. Labor only, without a truck, is $150/hr for two and $175/hr for three. Packing material and floor protection are priced separately: Ram Board floor protection is $80 for 50ft, carpet shield $30 for 25ft. 2 hours, shown as "from $350.00" on the 2-mover option No separate truck fee. The bill covers round-trip time from their Lafayette facility, so travel is inside the hourly rate rather than beside it. Not stated. They call it a flat hourly rate with no hidden fees. Listed active Permit HHG-00473, published on their own site, appears in the active section of the state's July 2025 permit list. Residential moving Read August 9, 2026
Small Haul Boulder hub No hourly figure published They publish a typical total instead: most Boulder studio and one-bedroom moves come to $315 to $515 including travel and fuel, with most taking 2 to 4 hours. They specialize in small moves, so the published total is for studios and one-bedrooms. They say the low end of your quote is the minimum A fixed travel fee for the crew’s round trip from their Boulder hub, plus fuel charged on round-trip mileage at a flat rate. Not stated. Could not confirm Not a finding that they lack a permit. Check the PUC search before you book. Boulder movers Read August 9, 2026
All My Sons Moving & Storage Broomfield, serving Boulder No hourly rate published They publish average totals from their Boulder branch instead: $982 to $1,289 for a studio or one-bedroom over 3.3 to 4.8 hours with 2 movers, $916 to $1,202 for a two-bedroom, $1,625 to $2,133 for a three-bedroom with 3 movers, and $3,075 to $4,036 for four bedrooms or larger. Their own page notes these are branch averages and your cost may differ. Not published Not published Not stated. Listed active All My Sons of Boulder, LLC appears in the active section. From the state's July 2025 permit list. Boulder page Read August 9, 2026
American Moving & Storage Pearl Street, Boulder No rate published Not published Not published Not stated. Quote by consultation. Listed active Permit HHG-00019, published on their own site, appears in the active section of the state's July 2025 permit list. Home page Read August 9, 2026
Free Range Movers Boulder No rate published. They ask you to call. One hour minimum per mover Not published. Time is prorated to the nearest quarter-hour after the first two hours. Not stated. Could not confirm Not a finding that they lack a permit. Check the PUC search before you book. Home page Read August 9, 2026
Taylor Moving & Storage Boulder and Longmont No rate published An agent for National Van Lines on moves out of Colorado. Not published They publish that there is no separate charge for gas, mileage or the truck, and that the truck, padding, wrap and wardrobes are inside the hourly rate. Not stated. They call it an inclusive hourly rate with no hidden fees. Listed active TAYLOR MOVING, LLC appears in the active section. From the state's July 2025 permit list. Home page Read August 9, 2026
The Move Caddies Fort Collins, with a Boulder location on Broadway No rate published Not published Not published Not stated. Listed active The Move Caddies LLC appears in the active section. From the state's July 2025 permit list. Boulder page Read August 9, 2026
Two Men and a Truck Denver metro franchise serving Boulder No rate published. Quote online or by phone. Not published Not published Not stated. Could not confirm Their Boulder page does not name the franchise entity, so we could not match it. Not a finding that they lack a permit. Check the PUC search before you book. Boulder page Read August 9, 2026

This is the list of Boulder movers who publish something you can check, not every mover in Boulder. Several of these prices are labeled promotional or "starting at" by the companies themselves, and rates here move with the season, so treat anything more than a quarter old as stale and confirm the number when you call.

Checking the permit, and what our column really means

Colorado licenses household goods movers through the Public Utilities Commission, and the PUC's own consumer guidance tells you to confirm your mover is permitted before you hand over a deposit. It matters for a concrete reason: under the state's mover rules, a mover that is not permitted may not hold your belongings to force you to pay. It also has to put its permit number, its real name and a street address in its advertising.

The live check takes a minute and it's the one you should do: the PUC's permit search, by company name or permit number.

Our column is a head start, not a substitute. Listed active means the business appears in the active section of the state's published permit list, the most recent edition of which was prepared on June 27, 2025. Where a company publishes its own permit number, we matched that exact number. Could not confirm means we could not match the business to an active entry in that list, and that is all it means. A permit issued, renewed or transferred since June 2025 cannot appear in a June 2025 snapshot, and some of these companies plainly started trading after it. It is not a finding that anyone is operating without a permit, and you should not read it that way. 7 of the 12 movers here matched.

What actually pushes your bill up in Boulder

An hourly rate is a rate per hour, so most of what you pay is decided by how long the job takes. In Boulder, five things decide that, and a national moving-cost calculator knows about none of them.

The CU weeks in August and May

This is the big one. CU Boulder's residence hall move-in for fall 2026 runs Sunday, August 16 to Tuesday, August 18, 2026, with the apartment-style halls spread a little wider over Saturday, August 15 to Wednesday, August 19, 2026. The university even requires a printed parking permit to bring a vehicle onto campus between August 14 to 19, 2026. Going the other way, spring residents had to be checked out by 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 2, 2026, and the 2027 occupancy period ends May 1, 2027.

Those few days pull thousands of moves into the same corner of the city at the same time. The practical effect on you, even if you have never set foot on campus: the movers with good reputations are booked, traffic around the Hill and Baseline is bad, and you are competing for weekend slots that already cost more. If your dates are flexible at all, aim for the first three weeks of September or anything in October.

Stairs, and the houses that come with them

Boulder's close-in neighborhoods are full of older houses that were built before anyone thought about getting a sofa in. Whittier, University Hill and Mapleton Hill all have narrow staircases, tight landings, basement apartments reached by an outside stair, and top-floor walk-ups with no elevator. Every one of those adds trips, and trips are minutes, and minutes are the bill.

If you're still choosing where to land, our Whittier, University Hill and Mapleton Hill guides describe the housing stock in each, including how old it is and how tight the lots are. It is worth knowing before you sign, not on moving day.

Tell the mover about the stairs when you ask for the quote. A crew sized for a ground-floor job that arrives at a third-floor walk-up will take longer and cost more, and an estimate built on the wrong information is the one most likely to be revised upward on the day.

Where the truck is going to sit

Downtown and on the Hill, this is a real cost, not a footnote. Boulder's on-street meters run $2.00 to $3.50 an hour and are enforced 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday to Saturday. Sundays and city holidays are free, and you get 15 minutes free once a day per license plate.

Paying a meter is not the same as holding the space, though, and a 26-foot truck needs the space. The city's construction, media event and special activity permits are the products that reserve one: a digital permit at $20 to $35 per space per day, depending on the block, plus signs at $1.75 per sign, and signs have to go up 24 hours before the space is reserved. A meter permit on its own does not reserve a space, so you need both. Call Parking and Access on 303-413-7300 and ask which product covers a residential move before you assume one does.

In the residential permit zones the problem is different. Boulder runs Neighborhood Parking Permit zones across much of the close-in city, and without a permit you get a short window and then a ticket:

Permit zone Enforced Time limit without a permit
University Hill 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday 2 hours
Mapleton 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Friday 3 hours
West Pearl 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Friday 3 hours
Goss Grove 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Friday 2 hours
University Heights 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., Monday to Saturday 2 hours
High/Sunset 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday to Friday 2 hours

Residents of a permit zone get 25 free digital day passes a household a year and can buy up to two flex permits, which cover a visitor's vehicle. One catch worth knowing before you rent anything: the city does not issue these permits to motorhomes, campers or trailers. If your plan involves towing a trailer and leaving it on the street on the Hill or in Mapleton, it needs a different plan.

Hourly versus weight, and why your out-of-state move is priced differently

A move inside Colorado is almost always billed by the hour: crew size times time, plus the fees in the table above. That is why everything on this page is a rate per hour, and why the questions that matter are how many hours and how many people.

A move from another state is a different animal. Interstate moves are priced on the weight of your shipment and the distance it travels, with packing and access charged on top, and they fall under federal rules rather than the Colorado PUC's. Comparing an hourly Boulder rate to an out-of-state quote is comparing two different products. If you're moving here from elsewhere, the number to pin down is the weight your mover is estimating, because that is what your price is built on.

Binding versus non-binding, which is where people get surprised

This is the single most common way a moving bill ends up bigger than the number you remember agreeing to.

Colorado's mover rules require your mover to give you a written estimate of the total cost, and the basis for that cost, at least 24 hours before a scheduled move, and to give you a signed contract before any work begins. Good. But the same rules say an estimate is not a contract, and that estimates need not be binding. A non-binding estimate is a considered guess, and if the job runs long, the guess is not what you pay.

There is a real protection in there and it's worth knowing: if the price changes, the contract has to be amended, and an amendment is only valid if both you and the mover sign it, free of duress. A mover cannot charge you an increase from an amendment you never signed. So if someone puts a higher number in front of you on moving day, you are allowed to read it before you sign it.

None of the movers in the table state on their websites that their estimates are binding. That is not a criticism of any of them, it is just the state of the market, and it is why the question has to come from you.

Moving to Boulder from another state

A lot of people land here from somewhere else, plenty of them because a job moved them. If that's you, the table above is the wrong tool, and it's worth a minute to see why before you start collecting quotes.

Set the permit column aside first. Colorado PUC permits cover moves inside Colorado, and they tell you nothing about a carrier bringing your things here from Ohio. A move that crosses a state line is federal territory: the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulates it, and the company you hire needs a USDOT number and FMCSA registration to carry household goods interstate. So "listed active" in that column describes a company's Colorado work. It is not a green light for your cross-country move.

You can run the federal check yourself in about a minute. FMCSA's SAFER Company Snapshot takes a USDOT number or a company name and shows you whether the registration is active and what authority the carrier holds. Protect Your Move, FMCSA's consumer program, has its own mover search alongside the booklet an interstate mover is required to hand you. Ask for the USDOT number in writing and search on the number.

That check earns its minute here in a way it doesn't on a local job. Interstate moving fraud is documented at the federal level, and the familiar shape of it is a quote that grows on delivery day while your things sit in the truck. Federal rules are specific about that: once you have paid 110 percent of a non-binding estimate, or 100 percent of a binding one, plus anything extra you asked for along the way, the mover has to release your shipment, and refusing means holding it hostage in violation of federal law. FMCSA runs an enforcement program against it, Operation Protect Your Move, and the agency reported that its 2023 sweep alone ran more than 100 investigations across 16 states and produced over 60 enforcement actions.

Estimates, the federal version

Colorado's rule 6608, above, is what governs your paperwork on a move inside the state. Once you cross a state line the federal rules take over, and they recognize two kinds of estimate. A binding estimate guarantees the total cost of the goods and services listed on it, and it has to say on its own face that it binds you and the mover both. A non-binding estimate is the mover's reasonable approximation, and your final bill gets calculated from the actual weight of the shipment, the services performed and the mover's published tariff, so the number can move.

The protection attached to the non-binding one is the part to remember. A mover cannot collect more than 110 percent of that estimate at delivery, and has to give you your shipment once you pay it. If a company offers you a price it calls guaranteed or not-to-exceed, that is not a third category in the federal estimate rules, so ask which of the two it is and read what the estimate says on its face.

If your employer is paying for the move

On a corporate relocation you may not choose the mover at all. Companies usually route moves through a relocation management company, which assigns a carrier out of a contracted network, and your part is dates and paperwork. That takes a real decision off your plate, and it also means the comparison above isn't the one that matters to you.

What you do decide, often on somebody else's deadline, is where in Boulder to live. Start with what living here actually costs, because a package that looked generous in another market can read very differently against Boulder rents and home prices. Then work through the neighborhood guides, which cover the eight areas people most often choose between, including the commute, the housing stock and what a normal week looks like in each. If the numbers don't work inside the city, transferees regularly end up weighing Boulder against Longmont or Boulder against Louisville before they sign anything. The relocation checklist puts the rest of it in order, so the pieces with deadlines don't arrive as a surprise.

Four things to settle before you book

  • Get the whole price in writing, before the day. You are entitled to a written estimate of the total cost and the basis for it at least 24 hours ahead, and to a signed contract before anyone lifts anything. If a company will not put the hourly rate, the minimum, the truck or travel fee and the materials in one document, that is your answer.
  • Check the permit yourself. Run the company name through the PUC's permit search. It takes a minute, and a permitted mover is the one the state can act against if something goes wrong.
  • Ask straight out whether the estimate is binding. If the answer is no, ask what would make it move, and get that in writing too. Then remember that any price change needs an amendment you have actually signed.
  • Be wary of a large deposit demand. Some good Boulder movers take no deposit at all for a local move. If someone wants a big sum up front, especially by an irreversible payment method, ask why, and ask what happens to it if you cancel. The PUC also requires movers to accept at least two of cash, certified funds, a personal check and a credit card, so a company insisting on one narrow payment method is worth a second look.

If something does go wrong, you are not on your own. The PUC takes complaints about permitted movers, and for disputes about the amount charged or about lost or damaged goods, Colorado law routes you to binding arbitration and the mover has to offer it. State law also says a mover cannot refuse to hand back prescription medicines, medical equipment or devices, or children's goods including their furniture and clothing.

Recommended for your move

These slots are open. We keep one featured business per category, and a featured listing never changes what the comparison table above says.

Moving to Boulder and want the rest of it worked out? Our relocation checklist covers what to do and when. If you run a Boulder business that serves people arriving here, get in touch.

Related guides

Boulder movers FAQ

How much do movers cost in Boulder, Colorado?

Among Boulder movers who publish a price on their own website, two movers and a truck run $135 to $179 an hour, read on August 9, 2026. That is the labor rate on its own. Most of these companies also charge a one-time truck or service fee of roughly $95 to $150, and set a minimum of one to three hours, so the smallest realistic bill for a professional crew lands well above one hour at the quoted rate.

Which Boulder moving companies publish their rates?

6 of the 12 movers on this page put a price on their own site. The rest quote by phone or by an in-home visit. Not publishing a rate is normal in this trade and is not a warning sign on its own, but it does mean you cannot compare those companies without making the call.

Do Boulder movers need a Colorado PUC permit?

Yes, for moves inside Colorado. The Colorado Public Utilities Commission permits household goods movers under title 40, article 10.1 of the state statutes, and its own consumer guidance tells you to confirm your mover is permitted before you book. The PUC runs a free permit search. A mover that is not permitted may not hold your property to force payment, which is the protection you lose by skipping the check.

Are moving estimates binding in Colorado?

Not automatically. Under the state mover rules, a mover has to give you a written estimate of the total cost, and the basis for it, at least 24 hours before a scheduled move, and it has to give you a signed contract before any work starts. But the rules say plainly that an estimate is not a contract, and estimates need not be binding. If you want a price that cannot move, you have to ask for it in writing and get it into the contract.

When is the most expensive time to move in Boulder?

Mid-August and the start of May, because of CU. Residence hall move-in for fall 2026 runs Sunday, August 16 to Tuesday, August 18, 2026, and spring residents have to be out by 10 a.m. on Saturday, May 2, 2026. Thousands of moves land in those few days, good crews book out weeks ahead, and weekend rates are higher year-round at the movers who publish two prices.

Does a moving truck need a parking permit in Boulder?

On a metered block it can. Downtown meters run $2.00 to $3.50 an hour and are enforced 9 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday to Saturday. To actually hold a space for a truck rather than just pay for one, the city sells a digital permit at $20 to $35 per space per day, depending on the block plus signs at $1.75 per sign, and the signs have to be posted 24 hours ahead. Call Boulder Parking and Access on 303-413-7300 to check which product covers your move.

Where these numbers came from

Every rate, minimum and fee on this page was read on August 9, 2026 from the moving company's own website, at the page linked in its row. Nothing was estimated, averaged, or taken from a directory, a review site or a moving-cost calculator. Where a mover publishes no price, the table says so.

We have no commercial relationship with any moving company named on this page. There are no affiliate links and no paid placements here, and if that ever changes, the featured listing will be labeled as one and the table will stay exactly as it is.